History of Principal of the Year
(Prior to 2000 there was only one Principal of the year.  There was no separation of Middle or High School.  One category was used.  From 2000 to present we have used two categories and celebrated a Middle Level Principal and High School Principal of the Year.)

MoASSP Principal of the Year
86-87               Bud Oerly - Boonville HS
87-88               Roger Berkbuegler - Rolla HS
88-89               LeRoy Huff - Scotland Co. HS
89-90               Dan Clark - Potosi HS
90-91               John Glore - Pattonville HS
91-92               Grundy Newton - Liberty JHS
92-93               Emmett Sawyer - Logan-Rogersville HS

MoASSP Middle School Principal of the Year
00-01        John Brandenburg - Oakville MS
01-02        Robert Steffes - Lewis & Clark MS
02-03        Steve Laub - Rolla JHS
03-04        Clark Mershon - New Mark MS
04-05        Bill Scully - Raymore-Peculiar MS
05-06        Don Andrews - Summit Lakes MS
06-07        Kim Presko - Oakland JHS
07-08        James Dunn - Lakeview MS
08-09        Jess Grizzell - Waynesville MS

MoASSP High School Principal of the Year
00-01        Cliff Borgstadt - Pleasant Hill HS
01-02        Stan Elliott - Lee's Summit North HS
02-03        Keith Maxey - Blue Springs South HS
03-04        Darlene Jones - Francis Howell North HS
04-05        Richard Pemberton - Jefferson City HS
05-06        Brad Tate - Park Hill South HS
06-07        Brad Coleman - Central HS
07-08        Ron Helms     - Lindbergh HS
08-09        John Faulkenberry - Lee’s Summit HS

2018 MoASSP High School Principal of the Year
Jeff Meisenheimer, Principal at Lee's Summit North High School in the Lee's Summit School District

09-10        Dan Clemens - Eastgate MS
10-11        Tad Savage - Valley Park MS
11-12        Linda Miller - Rockwood South MS
12-13        Jennifer Tiller - Truman MS
13-14        Jamie Jordan - Brittany Woods MS
14-15        Ed Gettemeier - Hardin MS
15-16        Gary Jansen - Hazelwood East MS
16-17        Ted Huff - Francis Howell MS

​17-18        Sherri Lewis - Bernard Campbell MS

18-19        Bill Powers - Cherokee MS

09-10       Kerry Sachetta     - Joplin HS
10-11        David Steward - Monett HS
11-12        Darin Powell - Bowling Green HS
12-13        Dan Anderson - Blue Springs Fr. Center
13-14        Brian Huff     - Raytown HS
14-15        Jason Snodgrass - Fort Osage HS
15-16        David Sharp - Lee’s Summit West HS
16-17        David Pyle - Carl Junction HS

​17-18        Renee Trotier - Rockwood Summit HS

18-19        Jeff Meisenheimer, Lee's Summit North HS

2018 MoASSP Middle School Principal of the Year
Bill Powers, Principal of Cherokee Middle school in the Springfield School District

MoASSP Jim L. King Principals of the Year

93-94               Arline Kalishman - Brentwood MS
94-95               Mary Laffey - Oakland JHS
95-96               John Laurie - Hillcrest HS
96-97               Ed Duncan - Lawson MS
97-98               Jerry Giger - Rolla MS
98-99             Katherine Barton - Oak Grove MS
99-00             David Waters - Farmington HS

The Missouri Association of Secondary School Principals (MoASSP) has selected Bill Powers, principal of Cherokee Middle School in the Springfield School District, as the 2018 Missouri Middle School Principal of the Year and Jeff Meisenheimer, principal at Lee's Summit North High School, as the 2018 Missouri High School Principal of the Year.  MoASSP officially present the awards during the annual MoASSP Spring Conference at the Lodge of Four Seasons, Lake Ozark, Mo., on Monday, March 26, 2018.  They were awarded the recognition based on their impact in the areas of collaborative leadership; curriculum, instruction and assessment; and personalization of the learning environment.